Benchmark your score

The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFRL), which aims to promote international and professional mobility, provides a common basis for describing the skills needed to reach different levels of language proficiency. It presents a reference system that is designed to establish co-relations between various tests and ability levels.

The CEFRL defines skills in reading, writing, listening and speaking in any language. The Framework is broken down into six levels, falling into three main groups:

  • A1 – A2 (Basic User)
  • B1 – B2 (Independent User)
  • C1 – C2 (Proficient User)

ETS Global regularly carries out correlation studies between its tests and the CEFRL to ensure that reliable and precise correlations can be made over time.

Click here to download the report on ‘Mapping of TOEIC scores onto the CEFRL’, and understand where your skill is at.


Can-do Table

ETS provides test takers with a TOEIC®  Listening and Reading can-do table which can be included with the CV when communicating the TOEIC score. This grid presents possible scores and the corresponding English skills associated with each; in other words, a picture of what the individual can and cannot do. For the TOEIC® Speaking and Writing tests, we provide test takers with proficiency descriptors.

Test takers can also be given a TOEIC certificate stating details of the candidate, TOEIC score, and date when the test was taken. The certificate exists in 5 colours that correspond to different score levels:

  • Orange: 10 – 215
  • Brown: 220 – 465
  • Green: 470- 725
  • Blue: 730 – 855
  • Gold: 860 – 990

TOEIC scores are valid as long as English proficiency remains the same. Generally, over a period of around 2 years, proficiency in a language tends to change. Hence, it is advisable to retake the TOEIC test every couple of years and update your CV accordingly.